Not Much to Look At…

IRFD1It rained most of the day today, but in between showers I managed to get outside in the backyard at least to participate in IRFD.  There wasn’t much to look at, really.

Mostly some wet dirt, fine roots and wormy-looking things.

A little burrow under this one…and lots of trails in the next two.

IRFD2

The most interesting find was a little snail under the last one I flipped.  I did maybe a dozen or so without much success for anything dramatic.  But after I processed the photos and put them up here, I think they’re kind of neat in their own way.  I’m sure a magnifying glass or microscope would reveal a lot of critters and plants not visible in these photos.

In any case, I had a great time in spite of the rain and noticed a lot of other stuff in my yard that I wouldn’t have seen otherwise.  I’ll have to try this again when the weather is more favorable.

You can see the list of participants at wanderinweeta’s.

IRFD3

8 Responses to “Not Much to Look At…”

  1. Dave Bonta Says:

    I’m actually rather jealous of your snail!

  2. obi4240 Says:

    He is a sweetie, isn’t he?

  3. Dave Ingram Says:

    Nice flip – it’s more about the process and looking closer than what you find isn’t it? The small stuff that we don’t notice/think about on a day to day basis is pretty interesting.

  4. Advice for Prospective Troglodytes (video) | Via Negativa Says:

    […] like on the Inside KrisAbel BugSafari Sofia_Alexandra Growing with Science ChickenSpaghetti NaturalNotes Yips and Howls Rock, Paper, Lizard Outside My Window The dog geek Dave Ingram’s Natural […]

  5. IRFD Blog Sites « Natural Notes Says:

    […] like on the Inside KrisAbel BugSafari Sofia_Alexandra Growing with Science ChickenSpaghetti NaturalNotes Yips and Howls Rock, Paper, Lizard Outside My Window The dog geek Dave Ingram’s Natural […]

  6. Ugly Animals Says:

    snaily snaily come here lol cute one! By the way I was wondering What kind of sound does a Snail make?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

