Blog MEME

Wow. Two posts in one day. Since my last entry was about evaluating my blogging habit, it occurred to me that I should possibly try this blog meme that is going around some of the blogs I read regularly. This is my first attempt at a meme – actually, for a long time, I had no idea what that even meant.

Are you satisfied with your blog’s content and look?

Funny you should ask – because where I was before, I just couldn’t quite get there. I liked the overall look, but uploading pictures was giving me a real headache. Most of the time it didn’t work easily, requiring several attempts before I managed a photo or two…and then they were never where I wanted them to be in the text. Then, uploading pictures went from headache to nightmare, followed by no pictures at all. Bummer. So here I am, on a new host, and liking this much better. I guess you get what you pay for.
As for content – I’m really working on that. Too narrow a focus at the moment, which wasn’t my intent at all. I do plan to write more about the natural world and the other things I experience while outdoors in Nature, and not just bird banding.

Does your family know about your blog?

Not really. I’m not sure why…guess I haven’t told them!

Do you feel embarrassed to let your friends know about your blog, or do you consider it a private thing?

Yes and no. It’s certainly not a private thing, or it wouldn’t be out here on the web for everyone to see, now would it? It would be in one of the unused but really pretty paper journals on my bookshelf. Embarrassed? I’m not sure if that’s the right word. I suppose any writer has certain feelings of trepidation, nervousness, queasiness, fear, downright panic…but embarrassed? You know, I just don’t know.

Has blogging brought about positive changes for you?

Oh, absolutely. If nothing else, the discipline of writing every day or nearly every day. Even if I don’t get to the computer to make a blog entry, when I see things during the day, it makes me think of the blog and if it would be a good blog topic. It is also making me more mindful of the pictures I take, and it has opened up a whole new world of reading other blogs – an enlightening and entertaining experience.

Do you only read blogs of those who comment on your blog, or do you also like to find new blogs?

I love to find new blogs, and I don’t comment as much as I should, probably because most of the time I can’t think of anything intelligent to say, especially after I’ve read an eloquent blog. But in thinking about it more, even a quick comment saying how much I enjoyed the post would be better than nothing at all. I will be more mindful of this in the future.
What are your thoughts on commenting? Is it important to you that people leave comments?
I enjoy the comments and feel I’ve made some new “friends” in those that read and comment regularly. I think comments provide that bit of recognition any writer hopes for. It’s also nice to converse with others of similar interests.

Does your visitor counter matter to you?

Gosh, didn’t know I had one! I guess not.

Do you try to imagine what fellow bloggers look like?

Not really. Most of them have photos (I’m one who doesn’t-yet) anyway. I suppose I have some natural sense of what they might be like, but it’s not anything I dwell on or think about.

Do you think there is a benefit to blogging?

Yes, positively. Besides the discipline of writing, it’s a medium I’m very comfortable with. I have a gazillion paper journals, most of them half empty because I tire of writing by hand, they are too pretty for my lousy handwriting, or too big to lug around, or my mind goes faster than I can write and I can’t get my thoughts on paper the way I want them. Working on the computer is much easier, more visual, and a lot more fun. And faster, did I mention faster?

Does criticism of your blog annoy you?

Ummm, haven’t really gotten any other than my own. I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing, but criticism is healthy, if given in a good way.

Are there any types of blogs you avoid?

Oh yeah. I avoid politics and “causes” like the plague. I avoid anything too bizarre, too stiff, or trashy.

Originally published on Saturday, Sept. 16….

Leave a Reply

