I’m BAAAAAAACK!

What a long, crazy, ordeal this blogging thing has been! To bring you up to speed – shortly after I switched over to Blogger’s new and improved (???) “beta” system, the ability to upload photos just went away one day. I read the faqs, I searched for directions, I made sure my photos were web-ready, I tried on numerous occasions to upload photos – and even though Blogger said my photos were uploaded and “Done” I can tell you – they were NOT! So – I went blog-service exploring…

I found a nice free trial site on Squarespace – and I have nothing but praise for them – except it seems you can’t upload more than one picture in your blog body. Instead, you use a photo gallery – nice touch, very easy to use. I wasn’t thrilled with their template formats, but if you had the time and energy and knowledge, you can probably restyle them any way you want to. The downside – it’s not free, and although I’m not cheap, I don’t always have spare change and started to worry that my blog would go away if I happened to be in one of those financial dry spells that come along now and again.

So – what to do? I decided to return to Blogger – aggravating as it is, when it works, it seems to work well. But I couldn’t switch back from the beta format, so I simply started another account. And that’s my tale of woe!

I’ll be spending some time moving my last few ‘free trial’ posts over here, and making sure Natural Notes II is posted in my old blog so I don’t completely disappear into Blogger oblivion1

My advice from this experience – forget everything I said about switching to Blogger beta until they’ve got the bugs debugged!

8 Responses to “I’m BAAAAAAACK!”

  1. pohanginapete Says:

    Laura, try switching browsers; if you use Firefox, switch to Internet Explorer, and vice versa. This usually solves photo uploading problems.

  2. LauraO Says:

    I’m using Internet Explorer, and believe me, I’ve tried everything. I’m sure either there’s a glitch somewhere, or I’m doing something wrong, but either way, I can’t get it to work. Problem solved by switching back to basic blogger! Thanks for stopping by…

  3. Lynne Says:

    Laura- I’m glad you didn’t give up all together! I am able to upload pics in beta. The commenting problem is supposedly fixed, but I still get emails from folks who cannot comment on my blog. 😦 For an “upgrade” it sure is a pain!! I wish I’d read the fine print- but there WASN’T ANY!!

  4. LauraO Says:

    Lynne – I could upload pics for the first few days. Then, when I tried, it would go through the motions but when it got to the “done” screen, instead of “done” I got a small version of the picture I tried to upload, and nothing uploaded to the blog. Very frustrating! Hope it works out better for you.

  5. LauraHinNJ Says:

    Welcome back to Blogger, I guess.

    Hope things here will continue to work. Keep your fingers crossed.

  6. Lynne Says:

    Laura- Where did you get that funny raccoon picture? The silly face makes me smile. 🙂

  7. LauraO Says:

    Lynne – my son took that photo on the porch of his house. We used to do wildlife rehab there and he is still feeding the descendents of raccoons we released there 20 years ago. I’ll post some others when I have a chance.

  8. Floridacracker Says:

    Whew! Thanks for the Beta advice. I think I’ll wait a while longer before switching.


Leave a Reply

