Morning Drivel

I’m back online this morning, and you didn’t even know I was gone. Spent the last two days moving from my little summer cabin into the “big house” next door – which is much newer, much nicer, much bigger, and – has HEAT! Just in the knick of time, too, as the temperatures fell into the 30s here. Nice as this place is, it’s a temporary fix until spring – then it’s back to my little cozy cabin. Because of the move, I’ve been offline as the phones and internet connections were switched. It amazes me the amount of wire that goes with a PC and wireless and internet connections. There’s nothing to do with it but coil it up the best I can and try to ignore it. Oh, for a laptop. I think Santa Laura may have to put one under the tree this Christmas.

I have to say, this was one of the easiest moves I’ve ever made. The two houses are only about 100 feet apart, and I don’t even have to empty the cabin. Just bring the stuff I want with me over the winter, and leave the rest. Simple. But how did I accumulate so much stuff in so little space in so little time? It’s a puzzlement, for sure.

Haven’t banded any birds the past few days either – first rain, then wind – so I decided to take a few days off anyway and tend to the moving and writing. Also took time for a walk by the lake. It’s really looking pretty this time of year. There’s a beaver lodge on the far side – I haven’t seen the beavers yet, but I really haven’t sat still and quiet here in the early evening to see them.

The bears haven’t been back either, at least I haven’t seen them. We did move the seed to a different building, so the shed is now empty.

Mike was hunting the other side of the Lake and said he saw them there – they passed under his tree stand. He said Momma is tagged in both ears, and one cub is tagged in one ear. He didn’t see tags in the second cub, which is strange. Usually if they’re tagging one, they tag all of them. Maybe they ran out of tags.

Well – I’ve babbled enough here. Time to fill the feeders and get some work done….

3 Responses to “Morning Drivel”

  1. LauraHinNJ Says:

    Glad you’ll have heat this winter, Laura!

    That lake pic is so gorgeous; I’ve never seen a beaver.

    Totally off topic, but I saw a post you made to Jersey Birds a few weeks back about a hawk that flew into your nets but escaped, thought I’d let you know that I had a laugh imagining what that must’ve been like. 😉

  2. LauraO Says:

    A sharpie – up and out before I could get there. Thankfully, it didn’t rip the net to shreds in the process!

  3. LauraHinNJ Says:

    Oh – I had imagined that it escaped from your hand.

    Wonder if it flew into your nets after a sweet little warbler?

    ;-0


Leave a Reply

