Blog Challenge and Writing

I’m getting back to writing fulltime, which I will do when I’m not banding birds. It’s the writing that pays the bills, the birds that allow me to do the other “work” that I do. Not a bad combination, really.

But this time, I’m also trying something different. I’ve been a nonfictin writer since I was a teenager practically. And trust me, that’s a very long time ago. I’ve been thinking about trying fiction now for a few years, but never have taken that first step. Well, I have now! I’ve got a writing blog going, and I’ve taken a gigantic step: I’ve signed up for the NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month challenge.

The goal is to write a novel – good, bad, or indifferent – in 30 days, beginning Nov. 1st and reaching the 50,000 word goal on Nov. 30. What have I done?

In browsing around the writing boards this morning, I came across another challenge – this one for blogs. The challenge is to post to your blog every day, and here’s the link for those who are interested: NaBloPoMo. No, I’m not crazy enough to sign up for both! But it’s there for those of you who want to give it a try.

3 Responses to “Blog Challenge and Writing”

  1. LauraHinNJ Says:

    Good luck with the writing challenge – I wouldn’t even know where to begin!

    Have you settled on a genre yet? (I peeked at your other blog earlier today)

  2. Meg4Meg Says:

    Both ideas sound fun! And challenging.

    I’ve been writing about one person everyday for a year. I’m on my #264 post (person).
    The daily word limit for me is 44, my age. Check it out: otter43X365.blogspot.com
    With only 101 people left I’m starting to explore other blog/writing challenges. Thanks for your ideas.
    Lisa O

  3. In Otter Space Says:

    This post has been removed by the author.


Leave a Reply

