The Wonders of DSL

I’m BACK! It started innocently enough – some static on the phone lines. A little slow on the internet, and the Blogger screen sitting quietly without moving on my monitor. Frustration led to my hitting the “end task” button more times than I can count. I gave up entirely and swore I was ditching Blogger forever. I chalked the problems up to holiday internet traffic.

Then came Monday morning. Same problem, but less static. Then a weird thing began to happen. The DSL would go out whenever my phone rang. The internet was slower than the proverbial molasses. Finally, I got smart and called the phone company.

An hour after the service/repair tech arrived, my computer is moving so fast it’s smoking and I’m dizzy from the screens flying by! The culprit – something the size of an AA battery called a modulator in the box outside. Apparently it had “grounded” and the moles were getting my DSL signal – or something like that anyway.

How pathetic is it that I can’t survive a week without blinding speed internet without being on the verge of a nervous breakdown?

2 Responses to “The Wonders of DSL”

  1. Lynne Says:

    Hurrayyyy!! You’re back! You have been missed. 🙂

  2. LauraHinNJ Says:

    I’m spoiled by speed too, Laura!

    Glad to see you back.


Leave a Reply

