Oh Look! A Christmas Meme!

I was contemplating what to write about this morning and found this meme on Hasty Brook.  Perfect timing – thanks, Lynne!

1. Eggnog or hot chocolate! 
That’s a tough question.  Hot chocolate if I’m cold..but eggnog is always good too.  Decisions..decisions.. 

 2. Does Santa wrap present or just set them under the tree?
 Oh, wrapped, always, unless they’re too huge.  Like the pony we got when I was 15.  That was in the barn, with a bow.  No wrapping. 

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?
White on the tree this year, though I’ve had colored in the past.  I try to keep a strand of colored up somewhere in the house all winter.  The color spectrum helps compensate for the lack of sunny days.  I’m very afraid this year, being the first of a real winter after 10 years in Florida.  Two years in Kentucky almost don’t count – it doesn’t get very cold there at all and we didn’t have snow either – at least not where we were.  Colored lights!  I’ll need lots of colored lights! 

4. Do you hang mistletoe?
 Oh hell no.

5. When do you put your decorations up?
Tree is up already, earlier than most years.  I don’t do a lot of house decorating – just natural greens and cones from the woods.  Sprays of pine branches here and there, replaced as needed.  Not a lot of glitz here, more country.  Red cloths, candles, cones, that sort of thing.  Just an evergreen spray and a red bow on the door. 

6. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding desert)?
Arancini and no, I’m not certain I spelled that correctly.  It’s a Sicilian rice ball, stuffed with meat and other goodies, deep fried and sprinkled lightly with powdered sugar.  It’s a tradition in our family to make them at Christmas. 

7. Favorite holiday memory as a child?
Sledding with my cousins and brothers, coming in for hot chocolate, sneaking down the stairs to sit under the tree alone for a few minutes, and the family Christmas parties.  Later, being in the barn with the horses on Christmas Eve.  I miss that part to this day.  There’s just something special about it.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?
You know, I don’t actually remember.  All I remember is my mother explaining it to me while I was on the last step of the staircase, and being OK with it.  I think I just told her OK and went up to my room to play. 

9. Do you open gifts Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?
Christmas morning.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?
It’s an ongoing thing.  It’s usually up and decorated fairly quickly, but then I seem to keep adding things I find or make along the way.  My son came last night with a box of ornaments we made together when he was a kid, that were stored in his house.  They’re a bit worn, but on my tree now. 

11. Snow- Love it or dread it?
This is my first real winter in 12 years – but I’m almost ashamed to admit I think I like snow.  After all, I grew up  here.  One of my favorite things was to take the Jeep out in a snowstorm, on the back roads – it was always so beautiful.  I just might have to do that again.  I don’t like it when it gets old and dirty.  And if I remember correctly, by February I’m seriously looking for Spring. This year, I have to go to Florida in February for Mom’s 90th birthday celebration.  Poor me.

12. Can you ice skate?
I haven’t since I was a kid.  I can’t remember why I stopped – might have been the time I fell and hurt my wrist.  I like watching figure skating.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift? (as a child)
Not as a small child, no.  But the pony was a good Christmas.  I already had a horse, this was a trotting pony and more for my older brother, who briefly got into racing them, but horses and ponies were always special to me and I was the one who took care of her.

14. What’s the most exciting thing about the holidays for you?
I just love the overall peaceful feeling and the family festivities.  It should be like that all the time.

15. What is your favorite holiday desert?
A cookie we call “pastachiotta” which is another tradition in our family. It’s the only time we make them.  It’s a filled cookie with a lemony pastry.  Looks like a little pie, sprinkled with powedered sugar.  The filling is a fruit/dates/nuts/chocolate/wine/jam/raisin concoction.  Really good!

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?
Cooking seven different kinds of fish on Christmas Eve.   And this year, we’re going to celebrate Befana (the good Italian witch who comes with presents) on Jan. 6.  Just might turn into my new favorite!

17. What tops your tree?
This year, the ceiling.  Maybe I’ll try a bow.. 

18. Which do you prefer- giving or receiving?
I’ve always been a giver.  Receiving is fun too, but I almost prefer to pick things out for myself.

19. What is your favorite Christmas song?
Silent Night. 

20. Candy canes?
On the tree, or maybe on gifts with the bows.

3 Responses to “Oh Look! A Christmas Meme!”

  1. Laura Says:

    My SIL is Italian and does the seven fishes on Christmas Eve – you people really know how to eat!

    A pony for Christmas sounds like every girl’s dream and to be out in the barn with the animals sounds like a very peaceful way to enjoy Christmas Eve – nice memories!

  2. Lynne Says:

    Thanks for joining in! I really enjoyed reading your answers.

  3. Mary Says:

    I enjoyed your answers, too. When I was a child, I longed for a pony, but living inside big city limits prohibited that! Nice memories. We have Italian traditions, too, all of them involving FOOD.


Leave a Reply

