Not So Lovely

Oh yes, the lakes here are lovely.  There are five, all within a five to ten minute walk of the house.  The largest one is Rooke Lake – it’s the one with the beach, the boats, and the beavers.  In winter, I can see it from the living room windows.

rooke2.jpg

There are three more ponds, one of which is visible from the house.  It’s right across from the bird observatory building where I work.  The lake I posted yesterday is just across the road.

What is not so lovely is that, as I write this post now, one of the park rangers is checking these lovely ponds for his heinious traps – and there’s not a thing I can do about it, since this isn’t my land and he has permission to trap here. 

A few people hunt this property privately, and they are responsible hunters.  They use the meat, they hunt respectfully.  It’s not my favorite thing either, but I am more tolerant and understanding of that than trapping.  I have ZERO tolerance for trapping, because it is totally unecessary, totally inhumane, and totally a coward’s sport.  At least a hunter must watch his kill die, and witness the outcome of his/her actions.  A trapper sets the trap and goes home to his television, while his ‘prey’ panics and drowns in pain and fear.  The hunter just has to come back and collect a corpse.  He doesn’t use the meat, just collects a few dollars for a pelt.  Nice sport.

So all I can do is send ‘good’ vibes to the water critters around here, and hope that I never find one still alive in a trap, because I’d probably have to do something illegal (you can’t mess with someone’s licensed traps).

I think it’s time for another walk.

6 Responses to “Not So Lovely”

  1. kgmom Says:

    Trapping? And I am pained by road kill. I can’t imagine having to live nearby where animals may be trapped. I am not really ant-hunting, but it seems justifiable only when it is truly utilitarian and not wasteful of earth’s bounty.

  2. kgmom Says:

    Oops–make that ANTI-hunting. Ant-hunting, that’s another thing altogether.😉

  3. Ruth Says:

    Allowing any creature to suffer is intolerable. I remember my mother scolding us for pulling the wings off houseflies when we were children. I am not against humane killing of animals for food, but don’t think I could do that myself.

  4. Mary Says:

    I would probably lie awake at night. It’s heinious, I agree. You are fortunate to have a pond view like the one shown above! Gorgeous!

  5. Giddy Says:

    Beautiful photos! We too, live near water and I love being able to look out my window and watch the wildlife scamper and fly about.

  6. Fidel Ramos Says:

    So Many Great Blogs and ways to customize it


Leave a Reply

