Bunnies!

bunny2.jpg

A friend came over yesterday and brought a newspaper for the neighboring NY state area, which is only about 20 minutes from here.  There was a photo of pets for adoption at the local shelter.  Besides the expected long list of dogs and cats – there was the unexpected – FOUR bunnies at this shelter.

bunny12.jpg 

This one, a Jersey Wooly, whatever that is, is the youngest.  The others are about a year old.  The ad said all would be neutered/spayed before adoption.  I’m going to call there today for particulars, but I’m really not sure how my 15-year old Boomer dog, who is half beagle/half Jack Russel terrier, is going to take to having a bunny (or bunnies) around.  Is it even fair to put a bunny anywhere near a beagle-head? 

The others:

bunny3.jpg

bunny4.jpg

Boomer’s never really been a hunter, other than barking and chasing now and then, but he’s getting too old for much of that.  I’m really not sure whether he would adjust and actually like the company, or cause terror to reign on the poor bunnies.  I could of course keep them separated, but that’s not really the best because when I get a bunny, they’d be part of the family, not just in the pen.   And yes, I know I keep switching from singular to plural here.  I’m doomed.

5 Responses to “Bunnies!”

  1. Mary Says:

    I switch from singular to plural all the time, but so what? :o) I love the bunnies! The last one with the black eyes really struck me but they are all sweet. Since your dog is older, he may not mind at all. Maybe you can adopt on a trial basis? Laura Somewhere in NJ will love this post.

  2. Lynne from Hasty Brook Says:

    UH OH!! Another bunny mommy! 🙂

  3. Laura Says:

    I sense some bunny-mind-control at work here!

    Great of you to look at shelter bunnies first. Go see them and get a feel for their personalities before falling in love with any based on looks. Hopefully the shelter has a room where you can meet them outside of their cage to get a sense of who they are.

    Me, I’d stay away from the Jersey Wooly – unless you like to spin your own wool and knit. That bunny will require DAILY brushing.

    I hope you can sort out whether or not a bunny will be okay with your Boomer.

    How exciting!

  4. obi4240 Says:

    Thanks for the advice. I did go and see them – the one with the black circles is gone, but there’s a black one there now in its place. The wooly one looked like high maintenance for sure! I did fill out an application for the two lops. They were very tame and very affectionate. They’re going to be neutered in another week or so, and then we’ll see. The shelter was very clean and they seemed healthy and bright-eyed. I’ll do some thinking on this in the meantime..

  5. Three Little Ladies Rabbitry Says:

    Another one bites the rabbit habit! We started with two ourselves. That grew. We now have over fifty. We breed, sell and show. My kids friends now ask if they can come over to the farm!


Leave a Reply

