Boomered

Thanks for all the input on the Big Bunny Decision of ’07!  In spite of all the good vibes, I’m leaning toward NOT going down the bunny trail just yet.  I know how innocent old Boomer looks, and how cute he is, but he’s also very needy and is never more than a few feet away from me.  At his age, I’m just not sure how he will take to new critters coming in, especially critters his half-beagle brain has been conditioned for eons to chase.  Doesn’t seem to make much sense to put two rabbits under his nose and then tell him NO.  And forget about the Jack Russell terrier half of him – they’re bred to chase everything. 

No – I think reason must prevail for the sake of the bunnies and for Boomer’s sanity.  My first responsibility is to him – he’s been my closest companion for 15 years and it just doesn’t seem fair to him.

So, anyone out there somewhere in NJ (hint) that might know someone who wants to adopt those bunnies?

6 Responses to “Boomered”

  1. Lynne from Hasty Brook Says:

    It sounds like you gave it all careful thought, and you’re right- you first responsibility is to Boomer. He’s a lucky pal!

  2. Mary Says:

    You made a good decision, thinking of Boomer. I have two Bostons Terriers and would love to have a third, but my older gal, Chloe, will be needing my attention during the next few years, so I understand!

  3. Laura Says:

    Awww.. too bad for the bunnies, but you ought to think of Boomer first. I guess he deserves his old age to be unmolested by a couple of upstart bunnies!

    There’s no room at this inn, if that’s what you mean!

    The rescue I work with takes bunnies out of shelters sometimes, but mostly just the humane society in newark – they’re quick to put bunnies down there. Most of the bunnies she rescues are taken from the local slaughterhouse.

    There’s also a rescue in Lake Hopactcong, but I think she does private adoptions, rather than through shelters.

    I’ll keep my ears open though – where are they?

  4. obi4240 Says:

    Yeah, I think I made the right decision. Laura – I mentioned it just in case you knew someone. Actually, the bunnies have been there since Dec. 21 so I’m not sure they’re going to put them down. I will find out more about that from them. If you know anyone, this is the shelter’s website:
    http://www.petfinder.com/shelters/pjhs.html

    Thanks for the thoughts on this. There will always be bunnies..there won’t always be Boomer.

  5. jeri Finnegan Says:

    I am interested in Toby, Does he like other dogs?

  6. obi4240 Says:

    Hi Jeri,
    I’m not affiliated with the animal shelter, so I can’t answer your question. You need to contact them directly. Good luck.


Leave a Reply

