Blue Mountains Revisited

I couldn’t help myself – it snowed last night, so naturally I had to go “Jeep’n” this morning.  I had my doubts at first because it looked cloudy – but then the sun broke over the ridge across the road, and that was that.

sunrise1.jpg

I decided on the Layton-Old Mine Road loop, which is a little different than the road I took the other day.  The first part is the same.  I stopped here, alongside this creek that empties into the Flatbrook.  More than 20 years ago, a friend told me this creek was a great place to find watercress.  Now, I’m not entirely sure what watercress looks like, or if it grows year round, but this little steam was lush with greenery, when everything else is brown and snow-covered.

watercress.jpg

 I took the same road toward Walpack Center, with the view of the blue mountains.  They were a little more blue today, with a couple of inches of snow in the fields.

bluemtns2.jpg 

Instead of going through Walpack today, I opted for the Old Mine Road.  This has always been one of my favorite places.  It’s supposedly the oldest road in the United States.  Today was particularly beautiful, and Boomer and I stopped to walk this section, that runs right next to the Delaware River.

omr1.jpg

We saw a few juncos and sparrows, a small flock of crows, and one more marsh hawk.  This one was  hunting the Shappanack Flats – the fields across the road from the Van Campen Inn.  The Inn was built in around 1750, and was restored by the National Park Service.  It is said that more than 150 men, women and children found refuge in the Inn in 1763 during an attack by the local Indians.  In the summer months, the Inn is open for touring on Sundays. 

vancampen.jpg

And finally, this little tree caught my eye.  A perfect example of how the Universe works – everything moves in an upward spiral.

wrapped.jpg

Life is Good.

6 Responses to “Blue Mountains Revisited”

  1. Giddy Says:

    Snowed about 4 inches here, but the wind kicked up and it was a bit too cold to do any tramping around. Maybe tomorrow.

  2. Mary Says:

    Thanks for the ride in the jeep! The places you visited look so serene…sigh…just lovely. Winter at its best. Looking forward to more green? I AM!

  3. bodysoulspirit Says:

    White really does brighten the landscape…much better than shades of brown. I really like the little tree picture and the bit of history about the inn.

  4. KGMom Says:

    Lovely photos capturing perfectly a winter’s day.
    I can almost see my breath in front of me!

  5. Laura Says:

    Glad life is good up your way.

    I haven’t visited Old Mine Road yet, but each year I want to go on the chance of seeing Cerulean Warblers there.

    Looks beautiful with all that snow – wish we’d get some down here.

  6. obi4240 Says:

    Mary – I AM looking forward to green. It’s my favorite color!

    Laura – come on up then this spring, and I’ll take you out in the Jeep to places you can’t get to in a car.


Leave a Reply

