Subtle Changes

Have you noticed the subtle changes taking place?  Sure, it’s 18 degrees out there and we’re supposed to get the first good snowstorm of the season – but there are subtle signs of spring about.  The tufted titmice are singing.  Not a lot, but every so often, the first bits of song can be heard, like the tinkling of icicles on the wind.  The chickadees are a bit more vocal too.  This morning, a downy woodpecker is drumming from the woods across the driveway.

etti1.jpg

The days are longer – it’s not dark at 5 pm anymore.  Sap is running in the sugar maples.  Mamma bears are nursing newborn cubs in the dens.  Great horned owls are nesting.  Other birds of prey will soon begin courtship and nest-building.

And, I talked to my brother yesterday, who lives in Naples, Florida.  He said thousands of robins passed through Naples over the weekend – all heading north.

Sure, it’s only  18 degrees out there – but Spring is just around the corner.  Life is good.

Posted in Birds. 5 Comments »

5 Responses to “Subtle Changes”

  1. Mary Says:

    This is my third attempt at posting. Here goes. I have noticed the changes, too! The birds are louder and the days are getting longer (I love that part). I’ve been chasing titmice for weeks and I’ve only seen one twice. Love that photo!

  2. Lynne from Hasty Brook Says:

    The house finches are singing their hearts out with their spring/summer song. I think the sun feels warmer even on our cold days.

  3. Laura Says:

    I haven’t heard the titmice yet (don’t get many at my feeders), but I heard the cardinals singing this moring and the chickadees since last week! The extra daylight is subtle yet, but every lit bit is appreciated.

    Love the titmouse pic! Looking forward to spring along with you.

  4. KGMom Says:

    I agree that the subtle signs are there. I noticed tree buds beginning to swell. And there are a lot more birds chirping around here. I am no good at picking out which ones–except for robins and cardinals–I don’t recognize them.

  5. Giddy Says:

    The male Goldfinches at the feeders are beginning to take on a bit of color. They’ll be brilliant in another few weeks. Spring can’t get here soon enough, but I’ve lived here long enough to know that March is *not* a spring month in Maine! “-)


Leave a Reply

