Visitors

I noticed a few more visitors to the feeders today. Over the last few days, the birds have done more hunkering down against the cold winds, but today, they were out and about, enjoying the sunshine.

Red-bellied woodpeckers, the usual titmice, chickadees, juncos, sparrows, and cardinals – just more of them. Also noticed today that the goldfinches are starting to show a bit more color. It seems early for that, but then again, Spring is right around the corner.

Flutter by rscorp

Rob sent a couple more photos – this one of a black capped chickadee caught at the moment of take-off. I like the artistic look of it. If I had taken this photo, it would have just looked blurry.

He also sent this one of a cardinal, one of my favorite winter birds. Rosso by rscorpI love the contrast between cardinal red and snow.

We also had a few other visitors this afternoon – a flock of five wild turkeys strolled through the yard. This evening, just before dusk, I was sitting here at the computer and could hear the warning huffing of deer outside the window. I guess they could see me through the window and were making sure it was safe. Eight of them passed by in the dimming light.

And just after the deer passed, the maybe-wild cat that’s been hanging around here most of the year was under the tree where the feeders are. It’s a long-haired tortie, responsible for a couple of dead birds throughout the winter. It only shows up here once every few weeks, so I’m thinking it’s probably someone’s house cat – or a feral cat with a wide range. In any case, tonight it looks cold, raggedy, and hungry, so I toss out the roasted chicken carcass that was heading for the dumpster tomorrow. Better it should help keep the cat fed and warm.

Posted in Birds. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Visitors”

  1. Mary Says:

    That is certainly a special Chickadee photo, suitable for framing.

    Although our weather has turned cold again, I’ve seen more visits at the feeders, too. Next week will be warmer and I’m looking forward to new visitors.

    If I saw turkeys strolling through my yard, I’d fall over. You are fortunate to be able to have visitors that people don’t normally see.

    Gotta keep that cat fed, or else!

  2. KGMom Says:

    I totally agree on cardinals being favorite winter birds. They sure know how to dress.
    As for feeding an outside or feral cat–hope it helps keep the cat away from the birds.
    We have two inside cats, and occasionally an outside cat strolls by, looks in our all glassed-in sun porch, and sends our two cats into territorial fits–hissing, growling, warnings!
    Stay warm.

  3. Bird Advocate Says:

    I’m sorry you have a roaming cat killing your birds. Cats should all be indoors, feeding them doesn’t stop their killing.

  4. obi4240 Says:

    You are so right. I wish more people would understand how many millions of birds and other animals are killed each year by free-roaming cats. I always hear, “but that’s nature” and actually, it isn’t. Cats are not a natural predator, like a hawk is. They don’t belong “in the wild.” We will attempt to catch this one in a live-trap and take it to the shelter if it continues to come around. I envision being over-run with feral kittens come spring.


Leave a Reply

