Pileated Plunder

piwo1Just when I thought I’d have nothing to say this morning, I caught a glimpse of red movement in the back yard. And there he was, a stunning pileated woodpecker, hard at work on the stump.

The photo isn’t the best, but then again, these birds are notoriously difficult to photograph without a blind, so I didn’t do so badly. The “blind” is the bedroom window – one without a screen! I was able to use the zoom feature on my camera, and a stack of books on the windowsill for a tripod.

Some of you might remember a post last summer, on the pileated-damaged tree I found in Stokes State Forest (across the road from where I live). After watching this fellow at work this morning, there was little doubt how efficiently pileateds can carve up a tree in no time at all.

PIWO 014

I waited until the pileated flew away, and then went out to see what he had done. There was a new hole chipped at the bottom of the stump, about four inches deep. I couldn’t see anything worth eating in there, so I’m assuming the bird got all the hibernating insects and larvae it was after. Yummy.

I’m going in for pancakes.

Posted in Birds. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Pileated Plunder”

  1. pablo Says:

    That’s a great photo considering the circumstances. We have pileated woodpeckers at Roundrock, but I only see them flying around. Never posing for the camera.

  2. KGMom Says:

    WOW! What a great shot from your “blind.” And the hole the busy fellow hammered out. Amazing.
    Fresh bugs!? I think I’ll stick with you and the pancakes.

  3. Mary Says:

    That woodpecker is amazing. Thanks for sharing the work it accomplished! I’d need a nap after watching all that work.

  4. Lynne from Hasty Brook Says:

    I never seem to get more than a quick look and I’ve never gotten a photo. Congrats! Great picture!


Leave a Reply

