Purple Somethings

It was just too nice this morning – even with the recent rain and threat of more to come, the temperatures were more to my liking and Boomer and I decided it was time to check the net lanes anyway in preparation for the coming banding season. Any excuse will do..

And one of the first things we discovered were these enormous fungi growing in the field.

purplefungi1

They looked a little tired, so I’m sure I would have gotten much better pictures of them in their prime, had I ventured out a few days earlier. I have no idea what these are. Anyone? But don’t you just love that color?

purplefungi2

This one looked even older and almost starting to decay, but here you can see the size in relation to the quite-large oak leaf on its surface. Of course I went out without my notebook and/or tape (handy things to have in the field) but I’m guessing this one had about a 10 inch spread.

A quick look in the library suggested possibly in the family of “earthstars” or huge puffballs after they explode (somehow don’t think so on that one) but I couldn’t make a positive ID.

spingdaffys

Signs of spring in full force were everywhere – not to mention the birds singing and moving about. Lots of song, white-throated, and fox sparrows this morning, juncos are still here, and the bluebirds are singing and diving into the leaves to pick off the emerging creepy crawlies. No ticks evident this morning, but I know that’s just a matter of time…

The ice is off the pond this morning – up to yesterday, it still had a frozen skin on the surface.  I listened last night for spring peepers – not a sound yet.  With the ice gone at last, I think they’ll be singing any time now. 

Boomer had fun nosing around the groundhog hole, taking long, deep sniffs. I half-expected him to start digging, but in his old age, good smells seem to be enough.

mousehouse

He did lead me to discover a fresh den of something quite small at the foot of this tree – guessing a mouse house. A little tight for a chipmunk, but possible.

Daily walks must begin…there’s just too much going on now to stay inside for very long. Life is good.

Posted in Plants. 7 Comments »

7 Responses to “Purple Somethings”

  1. mon@rch Says:

    Looks like some kind of puff ball or something! Hmm, very interesting looking!

  2. obi4240 Says:

    At first I thought no on the puffball, but looking at the photos again, it does look sort of powdery in the middle. I guess I’m headed back out to the field soon…

  3. Lynne from Hasty Brook Says:

    Neat fungus! Looks like a purple cabage leaf to me. Laura- you are an excellent example of why I love this group of nature/bird bloggers. I always learn from you all and there’s sooo much I want to know!

  4. KGMom Says:

    How appropriate to call them “purple somethings”. I have never seen a fungus that was purple–but, I confess, I don’t see many fungi around my suburban home.

  5. obi4240 Says:

    Thanks guys..I went and looked at them again and they must be a puffball of some sort. The center is filled with purple powder. I’ve seen lots of puffballs – just never any purple ones. My son says they’re alien cowpies and not to touch! He has a great sense of humor…

  6. Laura Says:

    Did you poke it? I surely would have poked it.

    Isn’t it wonderful to hear the birds singing at dawn again? I love to just stay in bed for a few extra minutes and listen to them. The peepers and their screaming is nice to hear too, although I’m not sure how anyone sleeps with all that racket outside their window.

  7. obi4240 Says:

    Laura – Of course I poked it! The outside is hard, the inside powdered, so I’m thinking purple puffball. That’s not the official name of course, but it must be a puffball. And yes! Loving the birdsong. There are bluebirds on the fence outside the window every morning. I think they have the sweetest voices.


Leave a Reply

