Warblers, Bunnies and Buntings

wildbunny.jpg

This wild bunny lives near one of my field nets.  Yesterday morning when I first arrived around six in the morning to open the nets, Bunny was at the far end.  I stood still, and he came within just a few feet of me.  At that point, he wasn’t too sure what this thing was in his path, and decided after a few minutes, to take cover.  This morning, he was sunning himself near the net lane, and I was able to get this photograph from the car.  Did I mention I love wild bunnies?

mpraw.jpg

Prairie warblers have been singing near the nets for a week or more now, and this morning we banded this beautiful male.  Notice the bit of chestnut on his back.

This morning also brought our first female indigo bunting.  No males yet, but we’re waiting…..

finbu.jpg

In other news, I am seriously considering discontinuing Natural Notes – at least for a while, as I’m so busy banding, working in the RRBO library, and doing demonstrations for visiting groups, that I can’t seem to find the time or the energy to continue this on a regular basis, or to read other blogs regularly.  I will, of course, as I find some time – but I just can’t say at this point how often I will be able to post here.

For those of you who have been faithfully reading and waiting for pictures, you can always see similar photos and commentary on our website: http://www.raccoonridgebirdobservatory.com.

Thank you to all who read regularly and comment.  I may be back in June or July when things slow down a bit…

Have a great summer!

Posted in Birds. 5 Comments »

5 Responses to “Warblers, Bunnies and Buntings”

  1. KGMom Says:

    We will miss you! But, certainly this must be a busy time.
    So, as long as you have such wonderful pics as today–we’ll let you go, just this time.
    Thanks for the link–I will hop over there and look at the birds.

  2. Lynne from Hasty Brook Says:

    I’ll miss you too! I ALWAYS learn something when I stop in here. I’ll check your link and hope you have a terrific summer too!!

  3. Riki Says:

    Nice shots amd thanx for more interesting info from this blog. I like wildlife. Rgds Richard

  4. Rich Mooney Says:

    Hi,

    I found your site through Larry then ‘somewhere in NJ’..Nice pictures. I banded for years in the UK but now spend most of my time birding as the nearset banding station is about 2 1/2 hours away….anyhow, good job…keep it up..cheers Rich Mooney…gone birding..


Leave a Reply

