Birds, Books, and Bylines

As the old saying goes, time flies when you’re having fun!  I’ve been on an insane writing deadline for a new book, which I finally finished last Tuesday.  I’m waiting for permission from the publisher to talk about it (not that it’s any big secret); they told me they like to wait until the book is actually in production first, which it now is, so…..soon.

Anyway, that – and the onset of fall migration banding, is why I haven’t been around in forever.  I’m also developing some other writing work and the day seems to be over before I get enough accomplished.  So sad.  I’m sure you’re all sobbing by now.

Banding is off to a warm, sticky, humid, miserable start, but this too, shall change soon.  We hope.  A few nice birds have come through – the first magnolia warbler the other day, and a swainson’s thrush.  Our cutie of the day, and a new species for banding, was a brown creeper:

brcr1.jpg

Surprisingly tiny – they don’t look that small when you see them on the trees, but there’s not much meat on those little bones!

brcr2.jpg

I’m going to catch up on blog-reading later this afternoon, clean up the book-writing chaos in my office, and then return to some sort of normalcy.  Maybe.  Life is good.

6 Responses to “Birds, Books, and Bylines”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    Life IS good! I can’t wait to hear all about your new book. You’ve got me so curious! I’ve only seen a brown creeper once and it was only as big as a speck. It must feel so small in the hand.

  2. Ruth Says:

    That is a very cute bird. They move so quickly around the trunks of trees that I never get a really good look at them.

  3. Carolyn Hoffman Says:

    Wow! I love those little creepers. What a cutie (female?)

    Carolyn H
    http://roundtoprumings.blogspot.com

  4. KGMom Says:

    Great on finishing your book–such a sense of accomplishment. I look forward to when you can talk about it.

  5. mon@rch Says:

    forget about the publisher, tell us all about your book!! How amazing and can’t wait to hear about it! BTW: I have always known about the phrase as “times fun when you are having flies”! So wish I was out their banding with you, going through banding homesickness! Owls will be soon though!

  6. Larry Says:

    Brown Creepers are cool little birds! I was surprised when I heard one sing for the first time!


Leave a Reply

