On the Move

Birds, and me too! As I may have mentioned here a time or two, my little summer cabin has no heat, so I’m moving my ‘winter needs’ stuff into another little house nearby. I seem to migrate with the birds!

YPWA1

Wednesday’s banding brought this very fine yellow palm warbler. I have a soft spot for these, because they remind me so of my years living in Florida – where palm trees and palm warblers are plentiful! In their breeding plumage, which we seldom see in NJ, the males have a rust-colored cap.

HYMRBGR1

Male rose-breasted grosbeaks were also on the move – we caught two. These are absolutely stunning birds. Grosbeaks are called ‘grosbeaks’ for a very good reason! In spite of their good looks, their personalities are not quite as spectacular in the hand. Of course, I don’t blame them for biting. This particular fellow was very smart. I tried to offer him a bit of twig to bite instead, but he invariably ignored the twig and went for my fingers. He knew the difference. I finally stopped insulting his intelligence by offering substitutes and just granted him some satisfaction. What’s fair is fair. But, Ow!

OWIE

5 Responses to “On the Move”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    You are brave to grant him his wish! Once again, I just love your close-ups as they give a chance to examine details that I’ll never see in the field and that books don’t do justice to. You were the first to point out the beautiful red underwings on rose-breasted grosbeaks. I had never noticed it before.

    Good luck with your move!

  2. mon@rch Says:

    ugg, thanks for taking a grosbeak for the team and showing us its throat! Those guys are enough to make you scream!

  3. KGMom Says:

    Happy move–stay warm–and keep your fingers so you can keep taking lovely photos of birds.

  4. Peggy Says:

    What wonderful photos! (Love the torn page framing of the middle one, too!)

  5. Larry Says:

    I didn’t realize Grosbeaks would be so feisty.-A Cardinal is a Grosbeak-would they try the same thing?


Leave a Reply

