Thanks

Thank you to everyone who sent comments concerning the loss of Boomer.  It was a hard day.  I still have my moments, and I’m sure I will have them for a long time.  I will not be getting another dog – in 15 years I’ll be too old to do this again.  I have a hard time dealing with the fact that we have an animal companion for so long, who is truly part of the family, and then we murder them and say it’s for the best.  I’m not convinced of that logic just yet.

Anyway, I’ll most likely get back to writing Natural Notes – and on a more regular basis – tomorrow.  Once again, thanks to all who sent good wishes. 

8 Responses to “Thanks”

  1. KGMom Says:

    Of course the choice is yours about getting another dog.

    We have gone through three dogs growing old and dying–actually one died at 7, fairly young. We now have our fourth dog.

    Every time we say we won’t get another–something serendipitous happens and we do. Our current dog–we encounter her in upstate NY (we live in PA and were visiting friends). Down the street came a woman and this cute puppy. I said–cute puppy. The woman said–do you want her. Turns out the woman had to leave her house for an apartment, and no place would allow dogs. So she was looking for a home.

    Well, 6 years later, that puppy is our beloved dog Tipper.
    Like I said–serendipity!

  2. Ruth Says:

    Our dog became sick over the weekend and I took him to the vet this morning. He is 9 years old and his blood work looks very grim. We have to make a decision tomorrow about him. Lots of tears today! Our last dog died 9 years ago and I said never again, and here we are going through the same thing! But this is a quiet, sad house and I am sure there will be another dog in our future. Maybe you will change your mind too.

  3. mon@rch Says:

    We will be here when you are ready to return! Once again I am sorry to hear about your dog.

  4. obi4240 Says:

    KGMom – I’ve had lots of dogs over the years, but I really think I’m going dogless for a while. I’ll never say never – but I will say not any time soon!

    Ruth – Oh my, that’s NOT what I wanted to hear. I am so thinking of you right now. Hope everything turns out for the best for you and your dog.

    Monarch – Thanks.

  5. cestoady Says:

    I am so sorry to learn of the loss of your companion dog, Boomer. Having had a dog that we had “to put to sleep” because of an incurable and painful condition that transformed our normally energetic, playful, bouncy toy poodle into a subdued, sulking, sad ,and suffering animal who could not eat, or even drink without whining in pain, I can understand your anguish and sorrow in losing a very dear companion.

    We did not murder our pet( nor did you, yours) because there was no malice in our motivation — but love. We felt it was indeed the best action,as did you, because not to do so would mean gradual deterioration and great suffering. It is logical, I submit, to relieve that suffering in an animal to has also come to the end of its normal life span, and there is no alternative, by “putting it to sleep “, as a expression of deep, caring love and respect . No one would want their beloved companion animal to live its final weeks or days suffering or wasting away — would they ?? We felt it was for the best, I hope you will come to feel that way too.

  6. obi4240 Says:

    Cestoady – Thanks for the thoughtful post. Maybe some day…

  7. Peggy Says:

    Hi,

    I happened upon this post just wandering around links from other blogs. First, your bird photos are amazing.

    But…I am here to comment about Boomer. You did not “murder” him, you released him. It’s not about you, it’s about him. I don’t know what your human family situation is, but my mother would like nothing more than to be taken to the vet and held in my arms and released. But no..she goes on, with the quality of life diminishing every day.

    I know, you have had so many comments from others that have lost dogs, and don’t we all basically share the same experience? Yep. But our attitude makes all the difference. We lost two dogs on the same day–one planned and prepared for, the other out of the blue. We speak of the one that was planned with great love and wonderful memories, and feel great grief and lack-of-closure (not to resort to psycho-babble) for the other. The planned one left while in my arms, secure and unafraid, knowing that it was all going to be ok.

    I understand your saying “I don’t want to go through that again”…but isn’t that denying and negating the FIFTEEN years of joy that you had???? Are you sure you want to give those up for a few months of pain??? How about adopting an older dog if you are not sure you can care for a dog in 15 years?

    Well, this is a heck of a first-time-visitor comment but since our loss is so fresh, I have strong feelings. Mostly I know what you are feeling. It’s okay, and Boomer is okay. And he was quite a looker!

  8. obi4240 Says:

    Peggy – thanks for your thoughtful comments. Much of what you said makes sense..although NOTHING I do or don’t do could deny or negate the years I had with Boomer, or any of my other animals. There were many dogs and cats (and horses and birds) before him – in fact I’ve never been without a dog or cat since I was a child, so this is new for me too. I suppose I’m just not ready yet.

    Stopped by your blog and your pictures are awesome! I lived in Florida for about 10 years and miss the waterbird photo ops that are better there than anywhere else. Hope you’ll keep posting them.


Leave a Reply

