Nuthatches and White-Tails

Fall migration continues, and although we’re not seeing a lot of warblers, we are getting a nice variety of sparrows, finches, and even pine siskins, which we haven’t seen in years and years.

One of my all-time favorites are the red-breasted nuthatches (RBNU), and we finally caught this one a few days ago. The RBNUs nested in the pines along one of the ponds, causing a bit of excitement for the World Series of Birding team that came through in the spring.

RBNU2

Like their cousins, the white-breasted nuthatch (WBNU), the RBNUs are year-round birds. They are smaller than the WBNUs, and I think, a little more outspoken.

rbnu3

rbnu1

Isn’t he just the cutest thing?

I’m loving my new cabin in the woods. It’s only 20 minutes from the bird observatory, in a small and protected cluster of about 20 homes that are each on 2-acre lots. There is a family of white-tailed deer that live here, safe from hunters and I suspect, fed by someone.

Yesterday when I got home, one of the deer was at the top of the driveway, and it actually ran down to the back door to watch me get out of the car and go into the house.

doe1

Today, as I worked in the office here and roamed around the house looking out the windows, I noticed three deer bedded down under the pines, about 10 feet out my bedroom window. That shows how comfortable they are here – otherwise they wouldn’t be bedding down next to the house!

Life is lonely without Boomer – but good.

6 Responses to “Nuthatches and White-Tails”

  1. Ruth Says:

    Your surroundings sound idyllic! I wish I could relocate this moment! Love the closeup of the nuthatch. I have only seen one Red-breasted NH.

  2. mon@rch Says:

    The Red-breasted Nuthatch is adorable for sure! Awww

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    The red-breasted nuthatches I’ve been watching here seem cheekier than the WBNU. They sure are a blast to watch. It seems they can make a U-turn in midair! Your cabin area sounds wonderful.

  4. KGMom Says:

    Julie Z wrote about red-breasted nut hatches recently, so I went to a favorate website & played their song. Oh, did that get my cats up and looking quizzically at the computer.
    I look forward to more tales from the cabin in the woods.

  5. Larry Says:

    I have really enjoyed the Red-breasted Nuthatches in my yard this year.-They are usually uncommon in CT. but not this year.-Those little birds have some attitude!-I like watching them come and go.-Nice to see a close-up photo.

  6. Macy Says:

    Great shots thanx for sharing.Rgds


Leave a Reply

