Brewster’s Warbler

This morning’s little surprise (don’t you love surprises?) was this stunning Brewster’s warbler – which is a cross between a golden-winged warbler and a blue-winged warbler.  Sound familiar?  The bird in this post is also a hybrid, but looks like a blue-winged except for the yellow wing bars.  The Brewster’s, however, has the white underparts of the golden-winged, which is a dominant genetic trait, and the eyeline and head pattern of a blue-winged, which is also a dominant trait.  In any case, a gorgeous bird, don’t you think?

  

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Brewster’s Warbler”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    Just gorgeous.
    Are the yellow crown feathers longer than the rest? I’ve noticed this in other spring warbler photos too. The crowns look fuzzy.

    I do have an eye exam tomorrow morning in case it’s my eyes that are fuzzy!

  2. Ruth Says:

    It is a truly beautiful little warbler. Thanks for sharing!

  3. obi4240 Says:

    Lynne, the crown feathers are about the same size, but many birds are capable of raising their crown feathers when they are excited or agitated or want to impress you, which makes them appear longer and the bird larger. It’s sort of his way of saying “you think I’m small but just let me go and I’ll kill you – just you wait and see!”

  4. mon@rch Says:

    Brewsters are such cool birds !

  5. Nina Says:

    You know, I always struggle to sort warblers out.
    Your close-ups are so wonderful for these!

  6. scienceguy288 Says:

    What a nicely colored warbler.

  7. Larry Says:

    That is a beauty! I know people have seen them in CT but I would be jumping out of my shoes if I found one on my own!


Leave a Reply

