Yikes

I can’t believe so much time has gone by so quickly since my last post.  I must be having fun?  I won’t bore you with a lot of excuses, but I have to admit that part of the reason I haven’t been posting much is due to where I live, and what’s in my backyard.  Nine miles off the main road, bordering Daniel Boone National Forest, and less than half a mile from the Cumberland.  A little difficult to sit in front of the computer, especially with dial-up service!

This is the view from the Cave Creek boat ramp, which is just down the hill from our place.  This is a small portion of Lake Cumberland, which stretches for miles in Kentucky.  The lake is a result of the Army Corps of Engineers building a dam across the Cumberland River back in 1950.  A “Tocks Island”  project that went through.  In fact, our little town of Burnside was moved from the river bank to the top of the hill where it is now.

Ironic that I should be living in an area similar to one that I grew up in, with the same type of Army Corp project.  The circumstances here are a little different, and it is a much more rural area.  Most of the lake is not very wide, at least not in this area.  The widest part is over a mile, but I’m not sure where that is. In this area, the lake is bordered by rock walls .  I haven’t seen the whole lake, as it has 1,255 miles of shoreline and covers 65,530 acres.  It creates a lovely echo, and amplifies the rolling thunder during a storm.

The Army Corps discovered a leak in the dam and in Jan. 2007 started lowering the level of the lake. Seems all that water is eating away the limestone base under the dam.  Yathink? 

I’ve heard that budget cuts are holding up the repairs, or maybe they’re just taking a long time to complete, because the lake level is still lowered and they say it will be a long time before the water rises again.  Guess they don’t really want to inundate Nashville – which would happen if the dam failed.  Sort of makes one wonder about the  advisability of damming up free-flowing rivers.  Beautiful as it is, I’m sure if I had been around here in the 1950s I would have been opposing this dam as well. 

On that note, for those of you who remember that on occasion I write things, my latest book, Images of America: Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area has been released by Arcadia Publishing. 

Thanks to all who keep stopping in here hoping I’ll post something.  I’ll try to do a little better – I’m going to schedule some time in the library (where they actually have WiFi service) with my laptop.  It may be only once a week, but I’ll get there.  Life is good.

7 Responses to “Yikes”

  1. KGMom Says:

    Well, I figured you must be busy or really having fun or both.
    Good to hear from you again.
    Congrats on the book!

  2. scienceguy288 Says:

    *Whistle* What a great backyard. I really hope you are having a good time.

  3. Larry Says:

    Daniel Boone National Forest -now there’s a hard name to live up to if you’re a forest.-I like slow bloggers-that way I don’t miss as much when I go back to check.

  4. Nina Says:

    We’re only 4 hours from Cumberland, but until last year, had never been.
    What a lovely place to explore.
    Glad you could spend time there.

  5. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    I’m glad all is well with you. What a beautiful place you have outside your back door. I’d have a hard time sitting inside too.

  6. Laura Says:

    Very cool on the book, Laura! I’ll have to look for it and brag to friends that I *know* the author.

    Glad to hear that you’re well and busy.

  7. seo services Says:

    CHALO YAARON ACHCHI FILME LIKHO, BANAO, DEKHO..


Leave a Reply

