Meanwhile, Under the Pines…

Banding ground  to a halt for a few days.  My Jeep is in the shop, which meant there was no available vehicle to take into the bear fields, as we need to cross the Puddle of Doom in order to reach the net lanes.  The bander who helps out a couple of times a week was ill, and that left the decision to walk alone into the fields and take my chances…or not.  I chose not. 

Although this decision resulted in a mild case of ‘bander’s guilt’ (i.e. I should be out there banding!!), as a naturalist I also respect the unpredictable nature of wild animals.  Especially ones larger and stronger than I, who are feeding on berries that they may consider theirs alone.  I figure it only takes one unpredictable big hairy animal with a bad attitude to ruin my day and possibly my life, and so bander’s guilt takes a back-seat to common sense.

Apparently, this family of deer had the same thoughts.  Seems like a good time to huddle on the moss under the pines and relax, and leave the berry-picking to others.

3 Responses to “Meanwhile, Under the Pines…”

  1. KGMom Says:

    Oh, good that you let common sense tell bander’s guilt to take a break.
    Love the photo of the sweet family group of deer.
    So, this round goes to the bears, yes?

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    Always let the beas have their way- good advice.

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    um… that should have been bears. My keyboard is wonky.


Leave a Reply

