Raccoon in the House

I’m house sitting for my son while he’s away on vacation.  It’s a big house, in the woods, and there’s naturally lots of wildlife.  I’ve mentioned the raccoons on this blog before, a long long time ago.  This is an older photo, but basically the same group that comes to visit.  They are descendants of the rehabilitated raccoons we released here when I was running a rehab center from this house. 

Rob can identify the individuals, but he wasn’t here last night, so he can’t tell me which one of these now not-so-little guys decided to take a nap in the woodstove pipe. 

Fortunately, it’s a second woodstove that isn’t in use.  I could hear the fur scraping on the stovepipe when the raccoon moved.  At first I thought it was trapped, but when I put my ear against the pipe to listen, I could hear raccoon snoring.

I figured the raccoon would climb back up the chimney once it got dark, but when the sun went down it became apparent the raccoon was going the wrong way.  I stood there and listened to the plop as he landed in the woodstove.  How he squeezed past the L shape in the pipe, I have no clue, but it was soon very clear that the raccoon could not gain a foothold to get back out.

The only thing I could do was open the porch door wide, barricade the doors into the rest of the house, and open the stove door.  Sure enough, it only took a minute or two for a very disgruntled (and I think, somewhat embarrassed) raccoon to opt to come out of the stove and into the room.  Trouble was, he then started roaming around the room, looking at things, instead of heading out the door.  I actually had to shoo him toward the door until he went outside and climbed the corner of the house.

A couple of minutes later, I could hear him on the roof, and sure enough, there he was on the front porch with the rest of his buddies.  Judging by the size of this raccoon, I now believe that, contrary to popular belief, it is entirely possible to put a square peg in a round hole.

4 Responses to “Raccoon in the House”

  1. KGMom Says:

    What a wonderful story–worth a couple of giggles. I am imagining the snoring raccoon, and then the embarrassed raccoon. So, the question is–do raccoons blush?

  2. obi4240 Says:

    Yes they do…you just can’t see it for the mask!🙂

  3. Nina Says:

    Raccoons–nature’s chimney sweeps!

  4. Larry Says:

    Raccoons sure can be bold. They are interesting looking animals but the can be troublesome at times. I was once at a park at dusk with a friend. We were at a picnic pavillion when we counted 12 raccoons emerging from the woods. They came right towards us to raid the garbage can and any food on the ground.-They had no fear but we did a little.


Leave a Reply

