New Year, New Post

I can hardly believe almost a month has gone by since I’ve posted here, but it has.  I hope everyone had a lovely holiday season.  I worked at the avian hospital right through the holidays, so there pretty much wasn’t a  holiday here.  No matter, there’s always next year.

I’m finding working in a seabird hospital to be challenging, rewarding, exhausting, heartbreaking.  I’m not sure how long I will stay here, but for now, I’m concentrating on learning new things and handling birds that are much bigger than I’m used to!

great blue heron

great blue heron

This great blue  heron was standing in the shrubbery next to my car when I went out for lunch.  I took these photos from the Jeep, which is usually spotted now with seabird droppings.  Poor thing.

great blue heron

great blue heron

The sun was shining rather brightly on this bird, so the colors are a bit washed, but he/she was magnificent.  This is a wild bird, outside of the sanctuary borders and fences.  They tend to hang around the outside aviaries.

Yesterday afternoon, I went for a walk on the beach (without camera) and came upon a young gannet sitting in the sand.   It was obviously distressed, overheated, and stranded, so I called the sanctuary and they sent a rescuer out while I stayed with the bird, warding off passers-by and providing shade with my shadow.

Unfortunately when I went in today, I learned the gannet had not survived.  It was severely dehydrated and starved beyond help.  There was no way of knowing how long this bird had been sitting on the beach.  The sad thing was that people passed by it all day, probably admiring it like they do the ring-billed gulls and royal terns that are commonly seen on the beach, with no one realizing this particular species was out of place on the beach. Where are the birders when you really need them?

On a brighter note, dozens of rehabbed birds will be released soon.  I’m looking forward to that event.

3 Responses to “New Year, New Post”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    It’s sad about the gannet but like you said, it’s great that many birds have been rescued, rehabbed and will be released.

  2. KGMom Says:

    Awww–too bad for the gannet. I wonder if people passing by would recognize a bird in distress.
    You will have to come to the rescue more, or teach people when to provide help and teach them the appropriate thing to do.

  3. Laura Says:

    Happy New Year, Laura!

    Glad to hear that you’re enjoying your work, hard as it is.


Leave a Reply

