Transitions…

It’s funny how we make plans, lay out what we want to do (and what we don’t want to do) and just when we think we have it all sorted out, it suddenly isn’t anything at all like what you expected.  That’s part of what makes life interesting…

So in the short, more-than-you-need-to-know version, I’ll say that I came to Florida to be near my ageing mom.  I took a job at a seabird sanctuary hospital  and rented a cute little cottage on the beach.

In the last week, my mom’s health has reached a point where she shouldn’t be alone.  My beach cottage is rented out now to someone else, my job at the seabird hospital is over, and I’m staying with my Mom, at least until my sister returns to FLA in July.  Then, we’ll swap out time spent here.

And I’m loving it!  I get to spend time with my Mom (which wasn’t happening with working 50+ hours a week at the hospital).  I get to freelance full-time, work my own hours, and have coffee after 5 pm if I want to because I can also go to bed late and sleep in the morning (so far, hasn’t happened.  Old bird-bander habits die hard).  And – you guessed it – I have time now to blog!  Oh, the sheer joy of it!

And – are you ready?  Yup, I’m heading back to RRBO in time for fall banding.  After that, we’ll see.  I’m thinking I’ll probably join the ranks of the ‘snowbirds’ and undertake my own migrations each season.  Life is good.

3 Responses to “Transitions…”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    I understand how life sends us in directions we don’t always plan. I’m glad for you that you’re able to ove along with it and that you’re finding the new path to be a good one!

  2. Giddy Says:

    Enjoy your new found freedom and the time spent with your mother. Both will give you memories for a lifetime!


Leave a Reply

