Displaced Bobcat

bobcat-007I’m still caring for my Mom in Florida.  Like all the other condos around here, my Mom’s place is on a retention pond, which is now swollen with rainwater.  We had nearly five inches just yesterday from a tropical system moving through.  Surrounding rivers are flooding, including the nearby Little Manatee River that goes through a natural park area.  Flooding in Florida means wildlife becomes displaced – usually we hear warnings about alligators, snakes, and poisonous toads.

This morning when I looked out lanai sliders, there was a shadowy silhouette under the jasmine hedge that didn’t belong there.   At first I thought it was a piece of palm bark that had fallen into the jasmine, but then I realized I was looking at a cat – and definitely not a house cat.  It was a bobcat, obviously a bit disgruntled, and probably displaced by the nearby flooding.  I managed a couple of photos, but this is the only one that turned out at all, since I had to take them through the patio sliders and the screens of the lanai.  The cat is only inches from the lake, under the only cover available out there.  It had it’s eyes closed, but the thrashing of it’s short tail indicated it was agitated and not a happy camper.

bobcat2We were able to watch the cat for about 10 minutes before it opened its eyes and looked at us – got up and stalked off across the lawn.  Another horrible photo through the screen, but the best I could manage under the circumstances.

My guess is the cat may hang out on the golf course across the street until the water recedes.  Now, we’re watching for alligators and snakes.

2 Responses to “Displaced Bobcat”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    I would be thrilled to catch a glimpse of a bobcat!

  2. Giddy Says:

    I once had an up close confrontation with a bobcat. We both looked at each other for a few seconds and then turned tail and ran in the opposite direction. They are beautiful.


Leave a Reply

