Changes…

It’s been a while, but much has transpired. My mom passed on July 23.  I’ve been spending time with my brothers and sister, sorting through a lifetime of stories and things and decisions and future directions.  When there was nothing more to do or decide, I loaded the Jeep and came home to Kentucky.  I’m spending hours just sitting on the porch with the dogs, soaking up the woods.

It’s going to take some time to get used to the idea that I can stay home now – that there’s not much need to travel to Florida or NJ anymore.  Oh yes, I’ll make that brief fall trip to RRBO soon, but I’m undecided whether I will continue banding birds there or not…more on that in another post.  I could band birds right here, as I did a few years ago, instead of driving 800 miles to NJ to band there.  Maybe time to pass that on to someone else…and just visit from time to time.

While the tone of this blog may change, I couldn’t see the sense in starting over. I may not post every day just yet…but there’s certainly plenty of things going on here to keep life interesting.  I’m almost ready to begin writing again…and I’m certainly looking forward to catching up on blogs I enjoyed reading in the past.

For readers who want to continue seeing those up-close banding photos from RRBO, Cailin is keeping a banding blog and posting photos there.

5 Responses to “Changes…”

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook Says:

    I am so sorry about your mother’s passing.
    My heart goes out to you. I understand the need to take some time after such a loss. You are in my prayers today.

  2. Giddy Says:

    My heartfelt condolences on your Mother’s passing. That you were able to spend her last days with her must give you great comfort.

    My Mother and Father are 83 and 86 and still living on their own in Kentucky. I try to visit as often as possible, but I think I’ll be going more often this year as they are both showing signs of dementia and I’m the only child.

  3. obi4240 Says:

    Thank you both for your kind thoughts.

  4. KGMom Says:

    Oh I am so sorry I missed this news of your mother’s death. Many sympathies–it is always such a transition. We are children, after all, in our heart of hearts. I am glad you have siblings with whom to share the stories.

  5. obi4240 Says:

    Thanks, KGMom. You are so right about having the siblings around. The hospice nurse told us it was a tribute to my mother to have all 6 of us there with her.


Leave a Reply

